Visiting Scholars

Each spring, the Museum Studies Program hosts a Visiting Scholar – a leading museum practitioner or researcher – who spends a week on our campus interacting with students, faculty, and the local and regional museum community. While at U-M, the MSP Visiting Scholar teaches a session of our graduate proseminar course, meets with student teams to discuss their capstone projects, and schedules one-on-one meetings with interested students and faculty. The Visiting Scholar also presents an evening public lecture and leads a morning workshop of students, faculty, and local museum professionals. Often, one day of the visit is devoted to visiting regional and campus museums and conversations with a broad array of local museum professionals.

The MSP Visiting Scholar Program brings internationally renowned museum practitioners and innovative thinkers to our campus. Their presence serves as a galvanizing force among the local museum communities on topics of shared interest, assures challenging and exciting discussions in our proseminar, offers expert professional support to our student work, and allows for exciting one-on-one interactions with students, faculty, and museum professionals.

We acknowledge our visiting scholars for the energy, intellectual excitement, and rich knowledge and experience they have brought to our program:

List of Museum Studies Program Visiting Scholars
Year Visiting Scholar
2019 Samuel J. Redman, Associate Professor of History, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
2018 Steven Lubar, Professor of American Studies, History of Art, Architecture, and History, Brown University
2017 Graham Beal, Director Emeritus, Detroit Institute of Arts
2016 Randi Korn, Founding Director, Randi Korn & Associates
2015 Lonnie G. Bunch, III, Founding Director, National Museum of African American History and Culture (Smithsonian Institution)
2014 Elaine Heumann Gurian, Museum Consultant, Advisor, and Author
2013 Ruth Phillips, Carleton University, Ottawa
2012 Mark O’Neill, Glasgow Life
2011 Andrew McClellan, Tufts University
2010 Ivan Karp, Emory University
2009 Sharon Macdonald, University of Manchester
2008 Harold Skramstad, President Emeritus, Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village
2007 Elaine Heumann Gurian, Museum Consultant, Advisor, and Author